NER Holds Virtual Annual Meeting

While the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic continues to prevent large group gatherings, the New England Region hosted it’s first virtual Annual Meeting last Saturday, on January 9. Similar to previous events, each program held a Town Hall session where schedules, rule changes, and questions for the coming 2021 season could be discussed and addressed. Then the club membership as a whole was invited to attend the full annual business meeting.

During that meeting, the region welcomed SCCA President Mike Cobb, who gave a presentation on how the club from a national level weathered the pandemic and it’s goals and plans for the coming year. We took a moment of silence for members that have passed in the last year, recognized those marking 25 and 50-year anniversaries, awarded region annual awards, heard reports from each of the region programs and committees, and welcomed the newest members to the 2021 Board of Directors.

Immediate feedback from the membership was that the Zoom sessions were well organized and easy to access. Those looking to ask questions were able to be called upon. In general, the state of the region is good and healthy. Our financials are strong, and we were able to safely organize and host events during the end of summer and into the fall. Members regularly commented that the early and clear communication from each program and specialty helped make participation possible and keep everyone safe during these trying circumstances, while allowing us to continue racing and having the #funwithcars we all enjoy.

Copies of each of those reports are available for members to review in the sidebar links.

2021 NER Board of Directors

Please congratulate the new 2021 Board of Directors for NER. Some of these members are returning or continuing their service, but we’re excited to have one new face as a BOD member, Steve Introne is joining the leadership team.

For the coming year, the new BOD will be led as follows:

Regional Executive – Abhi Ghatak

Assistant Regional Executive – Andrew Benagh

Secretary – George Farrar

Treasurer – Dick Pattulo


Wiley Cox

Rich Currey

Jennifer Ferreira

Steve Introne

Paul Omichinski

Gerry Papenhausen

James Ray

Region Awards

Please join me in congratulating the following members that were recognized with the annual region awards this year.

RE Award – Andrew Benagh

Assistant RE Award – Jacob Perkins

Gold Pass – Donna Stevens

Ma Philbrick – Josh Underwood

Member Anniversaries

It’s always exciting to recognize those members that have remained a part of the club through the decades. This year, we are honored to celebrate 6 who have received the golden 50-year milestone. To read each of their memories from the years, click here.

Ron Bartell

Paul Capel

Linda Fanning

David Foote

Jane and Bill Goodale

Gordon Medenica

Ken Payson

Ron Pellman

Andre Quetel